Spirits lifted! The power of Social Media.

Social media, it has evolved so much over the years. It certainly has its negatives, with cyber bullying becoming more and more of an issue, so much hatred being spread, and people actually becoming less social, they are so glued to their phones and their social media accounts that they forget to be present and appreciate what and who is around them.

However, it can also have its positives, and I have been lucky enough to experience more of the positives to social media than the negatives. For one, I have found online cancer support groups on facebook, where I can speak to people going through the exact same thing as me and new friendships are formed.

It has also made it easier for me to see what my friends overseas and interstate are up to. Even my friends living here in Adelaide with me, it makes it easier to communicate and tune into their lives if I physically cannot see them. Whether it’s the distance preventing me from seeing a friend, or the cancer making me so sick I cannot get out of bed, social media still allows me to see their photos and see what is happening in their lives whilst my own life feels like it has stopped.

But the most amazing thing happened to me yesterday, thanks to social media! I had a very special visit from a social media entertainer, Jackson O’Doherty. Jackson has over four million (yes, million, that’s not a typo!!) followers on Facebook where he primarily posts funny videos and pranks on his friends. He has almost 300,000 followers on Instagram and goodness knows how many on his Snapchat! He’s quite the lunatic (no offence Jackson, if you’re reading this!) but a good lunatic, he is absolutely hilarious, I share his very crass and very strange sense of humour.

I have been following Jackson online for quite some time now, but I started to notice over the last seven months or so, how much of a big impact he’s made on me. As most would be aware, my cancer returned last year and I had major surgery in November 2016. Since then, I have been dealt blow after blow after blow. Everything that could possibly go wrong, did go wrong.

The pain and suffering and sheer frustration and despair has been constant, for such a long time, so I am not going to lie when I say I had hit an all time low. I was beyond done with life when sepsis hit and nearly killed me over Easter and I had to endure more surgery. When it started to look as though I was finally healing, infection hits again, and I am told by my surgeon that he just doesn’t know what to do with me anymore.

I was at my lowest point, ever. Losing hope and running out of options.

Then Friday night, I am in bed, doing my usual Snapchat stalk and I see Jackson had posted a snapchat at Adelaide airport. I bolted upright in bed and thought to myself ohhh my goodness I HAVE to meet him!!!!!! However when someone with such a large following as Jackson’s, it can be very hard to randomly get in touch, especially when he must receive thousands of random messages per day and comments and likes on his social media platforms.

But you know what? I thought what have I got to lose by trying to reach out, trying to message him? Nothing, absolutely nothing to lose by sending a message. So that’s what I did, I sent him a message with the expectation that I wouldn’t hear back from him. I didn’t expect him to see my message, let alone reply to it, but he did, he actually did! That alone was enough to perk me up.

I briefly told him about my cancer battle and that his funny videos have been brightening my days during such a shitty time in my life. He has the ability to make me smile and laugh by simply being himself, and I needed him to know that. I needed him to know that my days feel less depressing, because I get to see and laugh at his hilarious antics all over snapchat and facebook videos.

There was one particular funny video that he uploaded recently. The night he uploaded it, was the exact same night I was having a particularly hard time with my emotional state. I was well overdue for a meltdown. I had so much pent up anger and frustration over this entire shitty situation of mine, that I let myself have a big cry. I won’t sugarcoat it, it was that ugly sort of cry you do into your pillow and you start to lose your breath. I then open up facebook, still sobbing like a little baby, and see this video Jackson just uploaded and it instantly brought a smile to my face, it stopped the tears and I watched it over and over again. My meltdown had finished.

Here’s the link to that video if you’re interested: https://youtu.be/9HdT0__8NGI

I love the song (such a catchy tune!), loved his dance moves and loved the all-round cleverness of it.

So I asked him if he had any spare time whilst in Adelaide and if I could meet him. This is where I thought I was maybe pushing my luck. He was only here for two nights and was busy shooting content for the brand Ryderwear. I would have absolutely understood if he didn’t have the time, it wouldn’t have made me think any less of him.

But incredibly, he did have the time, well, he MADE the time… for me… little old me, and it was honestly the best afternoon I have had in sooooooo long. We chatted, we laughed, we took photos, we snapchatted, AND he even gave me his iconic pink sweater, the same one he wore in that video.

IMG_2904

Later that night, he posted a photo of the two of us to his instagram with some beautiful words. The amount of amazing comments that the post received, were truly heartwarming, and I read every single one. I not only loved the fact that total strangers were sending me love and support and giving me a renewed strength, but I also loved that they could recognise what a good man he is, and the respect he received is truly deserved.

Prior to his visit, I honestly couldn’t tell you the last time I felt such excitement and happiness. His visit was such a selfless act and really lifted my spirits, at a time when I needed it the most. I have so much respect for him, he has such a beautiful heart and I will be on a high over this for a long time.

IMG_2905

Social media for the WIN!!

PS: This post gets the first coloured photos for my page, because you need to see the amazing-ness that is the pink sweater!!

IMG_2885

 

2 thoughts on “Spirits lifted! The power of Social Media.

Add yours

  1. Hi Sherie,
    I am 66, I live with a stage 4 bowel cancer since June 2010, had 6 open surgeries and only 4 feet left of my small intestine.
    I feel well because I keep many “small” projects and use “Avastin” immunotherapy combined with 5FU. You could perhaps ask your oncologist about this new medical approach. Being selfish helps to keep high spirits and puts a large smile on your oncologist’s face; but unfortunately we can’t do much for our loved ones. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑